THE RUSSIAN EXPERIMENT: Soviet Culture in the 1920s

Soviet Culture of the 1920s with pianist Vladimir Feltsman

Thursday October 19 at 7:30pm

Abramson Family Recital Hall | Katzen Arts Center | American University Campus


Presented by PostClassical Ensemble and American University’s Carmel Institute of Russian Culture & History

Mr. Feltsman’s appearance made possible thanks to the support of Susan Carmel-Lehrman

Vladimir Feltsman, piano
Benjamin Capps, cello

Alexander Scriabin
Piano Sonata No. 4 (1903)
Two Dances, Op. 73 (1914)
Vers la Flamme, Op. 72 (1914)

Alexander Mosolov
Two Nocturnes for piano, Op. 15 (1926)
Legenda for cello and piano, Op. 5 (1924)

Nicolai Roslavets
Five Preludes for piano (1919-22)
Dance of the White Maidens for cello and piano (1912)

Alexander Protopopov
Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 5 (1924)

Free Admission-Ticket Required. Click below for tickets and info (limited seating)

“Unlike their compatriots Rachmaninoff, Stravinsky, and Prokofiev, Mosolov, Roslavets, and Protopopov never left Russia — and this simple fact explains why their music is practically unknown in the West.” – Vladimir Feltsman