Dvořák and America

Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, College Park, MD
Tickets for March 1: $35 ($10 students). Box office 301-405-ARTS.

Purchase Tickets

Box office 301-405-ARTS.
Single tickets go on sale Aug. 6.

Dvořák’s American sojourn (1892–95) is one of the most amazing chapters in the history of classical music in the United States. During this brief period he composed his best-known symphony, string quartet and concerto. And he uttered his most famous, influential and controversial words, that a “great and noble school” of American music would be founded upon “Negro melodies.”

See Complete Program

“Dvořák and America”
Friday, March 1, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center: Dekelboum Hall
Kevin Deas, bass-baritone; Benjamin Pasternack, piano
PostClassical Ensemble conducted by Angel Gil-Ordóñez
Tickets: $35 ($10 students).

Works by Dvořák, Horowitz and Bekerman

Pre-concert presentation at 7:00 pm / Gildenhorn Recital Hall
Dvořák’s American Suite performed by Benjamin Pasternack, piano. Commentary by Joseph Horowitz and Michael Beckerman

Dvořák and Harry Burleigh
Friday February 22, 2013 at 1:15 p.m.
The Georgetown University Music Program’s Friday Music Series
Georgetown University, McNeir Hall
Free admission.

See Complete Program

“American Roots”
Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center: Gildenhorn Recital Hall
Benjamin Pasternack, piano
Commentary by Joseph Horowitz and Angel Gil-Ordóñez.
Free admission.
Music by Dvořák, Arthur Farwell, Ferruccio Busoni and Leonard Bernstein.

“Dvorak in Search of America”
Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
University of Maryland
College Park, MD
Free admission
Produced by David Salness in association with PostClassical Ensemble
Commentary by Joseph Horowitz, Patrick Warfield, and the performers

The New World Symphony
Friday,  April 19, 2013 at 7:30 pm
The Duke Ellington School of the Arts
3500 R Street, NW, Washington, DC
Box office: 202.337.4825 / website

Dvořák’s New World Symphony with Angel Gil-Ordóñez conducting the combined orchestras of Georgetown University and the Duke Elllington School of the Arts.